Investment presentation Private Equity

Private Equity

At 31 December 2017, FFP had invested €184 million (1) in private equity funds, representing 6.3% of the Gross Asset Value of Investments and 4.2% of FFP’s Gross Asset Value.

(1)   Excluding co-investments and real-estate funds.

Since 2002, FFP has invested in private equity funds. This asset class allows FFP to invest in a large number of companies and business sectors, taking a long-term approach. It also gives FFP exposure to sectors and geographical zones that would be hard for it to access directly.

FFP’s portfolio consists mostly of buyout (LBO), expansion capital and technology growth capital funds, which invest in Europe, the USA and emerging-market countries (India, China, Africa and the Middle East, along with markets in which IDI Emerging Markets invests).

The main private equity strategy is to support LBO and expansion capital teams in Europe, North America and emerging markets. FFP also invests in adjacent asset classes such as technology growth capital funds and impact investing/venture philanthropy/sustainable development funds. FFP seeks to make co-investments with certain funds.

2017 was another very busy year for FFP’s private equity activities. FFP committed over €105 million to several new funds, including €78 million to buyout (LBO) and expansion capital funds and around €27 million to technology growth capital and impact investing funds.

In the USA, FFP committed $10 million to the Veritas Capital VI fund, $15 million to the Valor Equity IV fund and $15 million to the Levine Leichtman VI fund. In Europe, FFP made commitments to three LBO funds: €10m to pan-European fund Chequers Capital XVII, €15 million to Spanish fund Portobello IV and €20 million to pan-European fund PAI VII. FFP also made commitments to two technology growth capital funds: €12 million to pan-European fund Summit Partners Europe II and $15 million to Insight Partners X. Finally, FFP made a €2 million commitment to French venture philanthropy fund Alpha Diamant  II.

In 2017, calls for funds amounted to €70 million. Funds carried out a number of disposals, leading to distributions of around €34 million in 2017.

Update at 2017 December 31st

Présentation des actifs Capital Investissement

Au 31 décembre 2017, les montants investis dans les fonds de capital-investissement sont valorisés à 184 M€ (1) et représentent 6,3 % de l’Actif Brut Réévalué des Investissements et 4,2 % de l’Actif Brut Réévalué de FFP.

(1)  Hors co-investissement et fonds immobilier.

Depuis 2002, FFP a pris des engagements dans les fonds de capital-investissement. Cette classe d’actifs permet à FFP d’accéder à un grand nombre d’entreprises et de secteurs d’activité en ayant une approche long terme. Elle lui permet aussi d’accéder à des secteurs ou des zones géographiques auxquels elle n’aurait accès directement que difficilement.

Le portefeuille de FFP est composé principalement de fonds de capital transmission (LBO), de capital développement et de capital croissance technologique, qui investissent en Europe, aux États-Unis et dans les pays émergents (en Inde, en Chine, en Afrique ou au Moyen-Orient ainsi que ceux d’IDI Emerging Markets).

La stratégie principale de cette poche d’investissement est d’accompagner des équipes de capital transmission (LBO) et de capital développement en Europe, en Amérique du Nord et dans les pays émergents. FFP souscrit également à des classes d’actifs adjacentes tels que des fonds de capital croissance technologique et d’impact investing/venture philantropy/développement durable. FFP cherche à effectuer, avec certains fonds, des co‑investissements.

L’année 2017 a été une nouvelle année très active pour la poche de capital-investissement. En effet, FFP a pris plusieurs nouveaux engagements pour un total de plus de 105 M€, dont 78 M€ en fonds de capital-transmission (LBO) et de capital-développement, et environ 27 M€ en capital croissance technologique et impact investing.

Aux États-Unis, FFP s’est engagée sur 10 M$ dans le fonds Veritas Capital VI, 15 M$ dans le fonds Valor Equity IV et 15 M$ dans le fonds Levine Leichtman VI. En Europe, FFP s’est engagée dans des fonds de LBO à hauteur de 10 M€ dans le fonds paneuropéen Chequers Capital XVII, 15 M€ dans le fonds espagnol Portobello IV et 20 M€ dans le fonds paneuropéen PAI VII. FFP s’est également engagée dans 2 fonds de capital croissance technologique, en l’espèce 12 M€ dans le fonds paneuropéen Summit Partners Europe II et 15 M$ dans le fonds américain Insight Partners X. Enfin, FFP a accompagné le fonds de venture philantropy français Alpha Diamant II pour un montant de 2 M€.

Durant l’exercice 2017, les appels de fonds se sont élevés à 70 M€. De nombreuses cessions ont été réalisées par les fonds conduisant à un niveau de distributions de l’ordre de 34 M€ sur l’année.

Situation au 31 décembre 2017