— Strong results in 2019 confirm the robustness of the FFP model as we enter an uncertain environment in 2020.

Strong results in 2019 confirm the robustness of the FFP model as we enter an uncertain environment in 2020..

  26 March 2020
FFP communication
Download the file
download  
 

The Board of Directors, chaired by Robert Peugeot, met on 25 March 2020 and approved the 2019 financial statements.

NAV per share: €179.5, up 19.4%

At 31 December 2019, net asset value per share was €179.5 as opposed to €150.3 at 31 December 2018, representing a year-on-year increase of 19.4%. The value of FFP’s shares in Peugeot SA rose by 14.2% in 2019 and most of its listed equity stakes appreciated significantly, particularly as a result of the companies’ strong operational performance. Unlisted assets also contributed to returns in 2019.

in € millions

2019

2018

Gross Asset Value

  • - of which Peugeot SA

5,265

1,796

4,317

1,572

Net Asset Value

  • NAV per share

4,472

€179.5

3,746

€150.3

Dividends received by FFP and its wholly owned subsidiaries

116

83

Consolidated net profit attributable to equity holders of the parent

131

115

Growth in consolidated net profit

Consolidated net profit attributable to equity holders of the parent amounted to €131 million in 2019, as opposed to €115 million reported in 2018.

That growth was mainly due to a 40% rise in dividends received from investments in non-consolidated companies compared with 2018, primarily resulting from a dividend increase at Peugeot SA, a special dividend paid by JAB Holding and SIGNA Prime Selection’s maiden dividend. 

2019 highlights

Peugeot SA

Peugeot SA and Fiat Chrysler Automobiles BV agreed to merge on 18 December 2019.

Their combination will create one of the world’s largest players in the automotive industry, with the critical mass required to invest in the technologies and services of the future and with leading positions in Europe, North America and South America.

The transaction is expected to deliver significant synergies, estimated at €3.7 billion per year, and the merged company will have a stronger financial position.

FFP and its majority shareholder Etablissements Peugeot Frères (EPF) supported the agreement. As the future group’s second-largest shareholder, EPF and FFP have undertaken to hold their shares for at least three years after the merger takes place. They will be able to acquire an additional stake of up to 2.5% in the seven years following the merger.

Holdings

In February 2019, FFP sold its stake in DKSH, a leading provider of services to businesses to help them set up and expand in South-East Asian markets, for a total of CHF212 million. FFP’s investment in DKSH dated from 2008 and the sale produced a total investment multiple of 4.3x after 11 years of supporting this family-controlled group.

In May 2019, FFP invested €25 million in Tikehau Capital Advisors’ capital increase in order to support the development of the Tikehau Capital group, which currently manages €25.8 billion of assets and is starting a new phase of expansion.

In June 2019, FFP invested €15 million in Acteon alongside Dentressangle Mid & Large Cap. Acteon is a French medtech company which specialises in designing and making high-tech dental and medical devices and also benefits from its diversified geographical exposure.

Co-investments

2019 was another busy year in terms of co-investments with both new and existing partners.

FFP invested $15 million alongside the Reverence Capital Partners fund in Transact, a US services and online payment company using the SaaS (software as a service) model in universities.

FFP also committed to investing $20 million in The Lian, a Chinese online cosmetics retailer, alongside Crescent Point.

FFP confirmed its support for Lineage, the world leader in cold chain solutions in which FFP first invested alongside Baygrove in 2017, contributing $15 million to a capital increase in April 2019.

FFP committed $100 million to JAB’s new platform, the aim of which is to continue funding its upcoming developments, mainly in the pet care sector. In the first half of 2019, JAB took control of Compassion First and NVA, two leading US players in the veterinary clinic sector. This sector’s growth is driven by rising numbers of pet owners and increasing expenditure per animal. It continues to offer opportunities for consolidation and for developing more upscale market positions.

Private equity funds

FFP continued its private equity strategy, committing a total of almost €149 million to 10 funds: Summit Partners X, BDT III, Veritas Capital VII, Valor Equity, Wise V, DBAG VIII, Quadrille Technologies IV, Warburg Pincus China, IDI EM IV and Advent Global Private Equity IX.

In 2019, capital calls amounted to €96 million. Funds carried out a number of disposals, leading to distributions of around €37 million in 2019.

Real estate

In 2019, FFP doubled its real-estate exposure by investing in SIGNA Prime Selection, co-investing in an office building in Saint Denis, developing new partnerships with real estate funds and continuing to invest in the United States with ELV.

In 2019, FFP took a direct 5% holding in SIGNA Prime Selection. This real estate company, which has built a €15 billion asset portfolio since 2010, has the strategy of holding high-quality properties for very long periods. Its assets consist mainly of upscale office and retail properties that are located in city centres in Germany, Austria and Northern Italy. In September 2019, SIGNA Prime Selection carried out a €500 million capital increase in which FFP participated in line with its existing stake, investing €25 million.

In 2019, FFP continued its partnership with ELV Associates in the United States. As part of that partnership, FFP made two new investments totalling $8.25 million and sold two buildings in 2019.

In 2019, FFP made a second co-investment with LBO France’s real-estate team (via OPCI Lapillus II) in the Tour Grand Angle building, investing €8.8 million. The Tour Grand Angle is a refurbished building in Saint Denis, in the heart of an iconic district of the Greater Paris region, which offers good lease renewal potential between now and 2024 with the arrival of new public transport links and the Olympic Games.

FFP also made commitments to two pan-European value-add real estate funds, namely TREO 2018 managed by Tikehau Capital and Icawood, which specialises in low-carbon development and wood-framed buildings, in a total amount of €45 million.

Debt

In October 2019, FFP successfully completed the placement of its inaugural €300 million bond issue, with a 7-year maturity (October 2026) and a fixed annual coupon of 1.875%. The aim of the bond issue was to extend the average maturity of FFP’s debt and diversify funding sources in order to support its growth.

At 31 December 2019, FFP’s net debt amounted to €763 million as opposed to €561 million at 31 December 2018. Unused credit facilities amounted to €594 million at the end of 2019.

Subsequent events

After FFP and its majority shareholder Etablissements Peugeot Frères announced their support for the planned merger between Peugeot SA and Fiat Chrysler Automobiles NV, announced on 18 December 2019, FFP entered into an equity swap agreement with an investment service provider: under that agreement, due to expire on 30 June 2021, FFP may acquire 2% of Peugeot SA’s capital for €228 million.

In the context of the rapid spread of Covid-19, FFP has taken steps to protect the health of its employees and ensure the continuity of its business. FFP is closely monitoring the potential impact on the activities and staff of each company in which it is an investor. The current fall in financial markets is affecting the value of FFP’s holdings and therefore its NAV. FFP’s cautious policy regarding debt means that it is not exposed to any particular risks associated with its debt levels.

Dividend

Given this environment, the Board will propose an ordinary dividend of €2.15 per share, same as 2018, in the next AGM.

Commenting on these results, Robert Peugeot, Chairman of FFP, said: “FFP achieved good results in 2019, with gross asset value exceeding €5 billion at the end of the year. The proceeds from the DKSH disposal were rapidly reinvested, particularly in SIGNA Prime Selection.

“PSA Group has published extremely solid results for 2019. This makes the group one of the world’s most profitable car manufacturers. We played an active role in the discussions that resulted, at the end of the year, in the proposal to combine PSA Group and Fiat Chrysler. We are proud to be involved in this plan to create a leading player in sustainable mobility, in which we will be the second-largest shareholder.

“In 2019, we also maintained our sector and geographical diversification strategy through co-investments in the United States and China, private equity funds and real estate projects. In particular, we doubled our exposure to real estate, which now makes up 8% of our assets.

“We also carried out our first listed bond issue. It increased our funding sources and extended the maturity of our debt. FFP takes a cautious approach to its financial position and will maintain its policy of keeping a reasonable level of debt.

“2020 has started with an unprecedented health crisis that has brought global growth to a halt. The decline in stockmarkets is affecting the value of FFP’s holdings and therefore its Net Asset Value. The diversification of our assets and our limited indebtedness are strong points in this period. I would like to send a message of support to the staff members of all our companies going through this crisis.”

Net Asset Value at 31 December 2019

Details of the valuation methods used can be found at www.groupe-ffp.fr and in the FFP registration document.

— Les bons résultats de 2019 confortent la solidité du modèle FFP face à un environnement incertain en 2020

Les bons résultats de 2019 confortent la solidité du modèle FFP face à un environnement incertain en 2020.

  26 mars 2020
Communication FFP
Télécharger le document
télécharger  
 

Le Conseil d’administration, réuni le 25 mars 2020 sous la présidence de M. Robert Peugeot, a arrêté les comptes de l’exercice 2019.

ANR par action : 179,5 € soit +19,4 %

Au 31 décembre 2019, l’Actif Net Réévalué (ANR) par action s’établit à 179,5 € contre 150,3 € au 31 décembre 2018, soit une hausse de 19,4 % sur l’année. La valeur des titres Peugeot S.A. est en hausse de 14,2 % en 2019 et la plupart des participations cotées se sont appréciées significativement, portées notamment par leurs bonnes performances opérationnelles. Les actifs non cotés ont aussi contribué à la performance de l’année.

en M€

2019

2018

Actif Brut Réévalué

  • Dont Peugeot SA

5 265

1 796

4 317

1 572

Actif Net Réévalué

  • Soit ANR par action

4 472

179,5 €

3 746

150,3 €

Dividendes reçus par FFP et ses filiales à 100%

116

83

Résultat net consolidé, part du groupe

131

115

Un résultat net consolidé en croissance

Le résultat net consolidé, part du groupe 2019, s’élève à 131 M€ contre 115 M€ publié en 2018.

L’évolution du résultat s’explique principalement par la croissance des dividendes reçus des titres de participations non consolidées qui sont en augmentation de 40 % par rapport à l’exercice 2018 (principalement suite à l’augmentation du dividende de Peugeot S.A., un dividende exceptionnel de JAB Holding et le premier dividende de SIGNA Prime Selection). 

Faits marquants 2019

Peugeot S.A.

Peugeot S.A. et Fiat Chrysler Automobiles B.V. ont conclu un accord de fusion le 18 décembre 2019.

Ce rapprochement permettra de créer l’un des principaux acteurs mondiaux de l’industrie automobile doté d’une taille critique pour investir dans les technologies et les services d’avenir, et bénéficiant de positions de leader en Europe, Amérique du Nord et Amérique du Sud.

Les synergies attendues sont significatives (estimées à 3,7 Mds€ par an en année pleine) et permettront de renforcer la solidité financière du nouveau groupe.

FFP et son actionnaire majoritaire Etablissements Peugeot Frères (« EPF ») ont soutenu cet accord. Deuxième actionnaire du futur groupe, EPF et FFP ont pris l’engagement de conserver leurs titres au moins 3 ans après la réalisation de la fusion. Ces sociétés auront la possibilité d’acquérir jusqu’à 2,5 % du capital supplémentaires dans les 7 années qui suivront la réalisation de la fusion.

Participations

En février 2019, FFP a cédé sa participation dans la société suisse DKSH, leader des services aux entreprises pour leur implantation et leur expansion sur les marchés d’Asie du Sud-Est, pour un montant total de 212 M CHF. L’investissement de FFP dans DKSH datant de 2008 a permis de réaliser un multiple global de 4,3x, après 11 ans d’accompagnement de ce groupe familial.

En mai 2019, FFP a participé pour 25 M€ à l’augmentation de capital de Tikehau Capital Advisors afin d’accompagner le développement du groupe Tikehau Capital, qui gère actuellement 25,8 Mds€ d’actifs et entame une nouvelle phase de développement.

En juin 2019, FFP a investi dans la société Acteon aux côtés de Dentressangle Mid & Large Cap pour un montant de 15 M€. Acteon est une medtech française spécialisée dans la conception et la fabrication de dispositifs dentaires et médicaux de haute technologie qui bénéficie d’une exposition géographique diversifiée.

Co-investissements

L’année 2019 a de nouveau été active en termes de co-investissements, auprès de nouveaux partenaires et de partenaires existants.

FFP a investi 15 M$ aux côtés du fonds Reverence Capital Partners, dans la société Transact, un acteur américain des services et du paiement en ligne sur le modèle Saas (« software as a service ») dans les universités.

FFP s’est également engagée à investir 20 M$ dans The Lian un spécialiste chinois de la vente de cosmétiques en ligne, aux côtés de Crescent Point.

FFP a confirmé son soutien à Lineage, premier acteur mondial de la chaîne du froid, dans laquelle FFP est investie aux côtés de Baygrove depuis 2017, en participant à une augmentation de capital pour 15 M$ en avril 2019.

FFP s’est engagée pour 100 M$ dans la nouvelle plateforme de JAB qui a pour objectif de continuer à financer ses prochains développements, principalement dans le secteur des animaux de compagnie (petcare). JAB a notamment pris le contrôle au premier semestre 2019 de Compassion First et NVA, deux leaders américains du secteur des cliniques vétérinaires. Ce secteur bénéficie d’une tendance de croissance tirée par une hausse du nombre de propriétaires ainsi qu’une augmentation des dépenses par animal, et continue d’offrir des opportunités de consolidation et de montée en gamme.

Fonds de capital-investissement

FFP a poursuivi sa stratégie d’engagements dans des fonds de capital-investissement en prenant 10 nouveaux engagements pour un total approchant 149 M€ dans les fonds Summit Partners X, BDT III, Veritas Capital VII et Valor Equity, Wise V, DBAG VIII, Quadrille Technologies IV, Warburg Pincus China, IDI EM IV et Advent Global Private Equity IX.

Durant l’exercice 2019, les appels de fonds se sont élevés à 96 M€. De nombreuses cessions ont été réalisées par les fonds conduisant à un niveau de distributions de l’ordre de 37 M€ sur l’année.

Immobilier

En 2019, FFP a doublé son exposition à l’immobilier en investissant dans SIGNA Prime Selection, en co-investissant dans un immeuble de bureau à Saint Denis, en développant de nouveaux partenariats avec des fonds immobiliers et en continuant à investir aux Etats-Unis avec ELV.

En 2019, FFP a pris une participation de 5 % du capital de la société immobilière SIGNA Prime Selection. La société, qui a constitué un pôle immobilier de 15 Mds€ depuis 2010, a pour stratégie de détenir à très long terme des actifs de grande qualité. Essentiellement constitués de bureaux et commerces haut de gamme, ceux-ci sont situés au cœur des centres-villes d’Allemagne, d’Autriche et du nord de l’Italie. En septembre 2019, SIGNA Prime Selection a effectué une augmentation de capital de 500 M€ à laquelle FFP a participé à hauteur de sa quote part, soit 25 M€.

En 2019, FFP a poursuivi son partenariat avec ELV Associates aux Etats-Unis. La société a réalisé dans ce cadre deux nouveaux investissements pour un montant total de 8,25 M$ et bénéficié de deux cessions d’immeubles en 2019.

En 2019, FFP a réalisé un second co-investissement avec l’équipe immobilière de LBO France (via l’OPCI Lapillus II) dans la Tour Grand Angle, à hauteur de 8,8 M€. La Tour Grand Angle est un immeuble rénové situé à Saint-Denis, au cœur d’une zone emblématique du Grand Paris qui offre un potentiel de réversion importante à l’horizon 2024 avec l’arrivée de nouveaux transports en commun et des Jeux Olympiques.

FFP s’est également engagée dans le fonds immobilier value-add pan-européen TREO 2018 géré par Tikehau Capital, et le fonds Icawood, spécialisé dans le développement immobilier bas carbone et les constructions en structure bois, pour un total de 45 M€.

Endettement financier

FFP a procédé avec succès en octobre 2019 au placement d’une émission obligataire inaugurale d’un montant de 300 millions d’euros à échéance 7 ans (octobre 2026), assortie d’un coupon fixe annuel de 1,875 %. L’objectif de cette émission obligataire est d’allonger la maturité moyenne de son endettement et de diversifier les sources de financement afin de soutenir la croissance de FFP.

Au 31 décembre 2019, la dette nette de FFP s’élève à 763 M€ contre 561 M€ au 31 décembre 2018. Les lignes de crédit non utilisées fin 2019 totalisent 594 M€.

Evénements post-clôture

Dans la continuité du soutien apporté par FFP et son actionnaire majoritaire Etablissements Peugeot Frères au projet de fusion entre Peugeot S.A. et Fiat Chrysler Automobiles N.V. annoncé le 18 décembre 2019, FFP a conclu, avec un prestataire de services d’investissement, un contrat d’« equity swap » à échéance le 30 juin 2021, au terme duquel FFP pourrait acquérir 2 % du capital de Peugeot S.A. pour un montant de 228 millions d’euros.

Dans le contexte d’expansion rapide du Covid-19, FFP a pris des mesures pour protéger la santé de ses employés et assurer la continuité de son activité. FFP suit de près les impacts potentiels sur l’activité et les équipes de chacune des sociétés dans lesquelles FFP est investie. La chute actuelle des marchés financiers impacte la valeur de ses participations et ainsi la valeur de son ANR. La politique d’endettement mesuré de FFP permet de ne pas avoir de risque particulier associé à son niveau d’endettement.

Dividende

Compte-tenu de cet environnement, le Conseil proposera à la prochaine Assemblée Générale un dividende ordinaire de 2,15 € par action, équivalent à celui de l’année dernière.

Commentant ces résultats, Robert Peugeot, Président de FFP, a déclaré : « FFP a obtenu de bons résultats en 2019, avec un actif brut qui dépassait 5 Mds€ en fin d’année. Le produit de la cession de DKSH a rapidement été redéployé, en particulier dans SIGNA Prime Sélection.

Groupe PSA a publié des résultats extrêmement solides pour 2019. Le groupe est ainsi l’un des constructeurs automobiles les plus rentables dans le monde. Nous avons participé activement aux discussions qui ont permis d’aboutir, à la fin de l’année, au projet de fusion de Groupe PSA avec Fiat Chrysler. Nous sommes fiers de contribuer ainsi à la création d’un leader de la mobilité durable dont nous serons le 2e actionnaire.

L’année 2019 aura également été marquée par la poursuite de notre stratégie de diversification sectorielle et géographique via des co-investissements aux Etats-Unis et en Chine, des fonds de capital-investissement et des projets immobiliers. En particulier, nous avons doublé notre exposition à l’immobilier, qui représente désormais 8 % de nos actifs.

Nous avons également placé notre première émission obligataire cotée. Elle permet d’accroitre nos sources de financement et d’allonger la maturité de notre dette. FFP gère son bilan de façon prudente et continuera sa politique de gestion raisonnable de son endettement financier.

L’année 2020 démarre par une crise sanitaire inédite qui met un coup d’arrêt à la croissance mondiale. La chute des marchés boursiers impacte la valeur des participations de FFP et ainsi celle de son actif net. La diversification de nos actifs et l’endettement mesuré sont des atouts dans cette période. J’adresse aux équipes de toutes nos sociétés un message de soutien dans la traversée de cette crise. »

Actif Net Réévalué au 31 décembre 2019

Les méthodes de valorisation retenues sont détaillées sur www.groupe-ffp.fr et dans le Document d’enregistrement universel de FFP.