— Resilient NAV in a volatile environment

Resilient NAV in a volatile environment.

  18 March 2019
FFP communication
Download the PDF file
download
 

FFP’s Board of Directors, chaired by Robert Peugeot, met on 15 March 2019 and approved the 2018 financial statements.

NAV per share: €150.3, down 2.6%

At 31 December 2018, net asset value per share was €150.3 as opposed to €154.4 at 31 December 2017, representing a year-on-year decrease of 2.6%, resulting mainly from the decline in financial markets at the end of 2018. Against the volatile background, Peugeot SA and Safran’s share prices rose while performance among other listed investments was more mixed. Unlisted assets rose in value in 2018, particularly recent co-investments and the portfolio of private equity fund investments. 

Consolidated net profit affected by changes in accounting standards  
Consolidated net profit attributable to equity holders of the parent amounted to €115 million in 2018, as opposed to €222 million reported in 2017.

The variation was mainly due to the change in accounting standards in 2018, with IFRS 9 replacing IAS 39: since capital gains realised on holdings are no longer recognised in profit and loss but in equity, the 2018 profit figure does not include the €240 million of capital gains realised on the sale of Zodiac Aerospace and ORPEA shares. In 2017, earnings included €147 million of capital gains on disposals of Sanef, Ipsos and Onet shares.

Dividends from equity investments rose to €83 million in 2018 as opposed to €77 million in 2017.

Highlights

Holdings

On 27 February 2018, FFP tendered all of its Zodiac Aerospace (www.zodiacaerospace.com) shares to the public exchange offer initiated by Safran (www.safrangroup.com). As a result, FFP received 2,832,492 Safran shares, which are non-transferable for three years, along with €141 million in cash. It also reinvested €31 million in Safran ordinary shares.
F&P SAS, a joint venture between FFP and Fonds Stratégique de Participations (FSP) acting in concert with respect to Safran, is a director of the firm. It is represented on Safran’s Board of Directors by its Chairman, Robert Peugeot.

In July 2018, FFP sold a 0.85% stake in ORPEA (www.orpea.com) at €116 per share, making a total of €63.8 million. Having become a shareholder in ORPEA in 2011, FFP achieved a multiple of 4x on the disposal. FFP still holds a 5% stake and a seat on ORPEA’s board.

Co-investments

In June 2018, FFP invested an additional $130 million alongside JAB Holding (www.jabholco.com) to continue supporting the group’s expansion strategy in the beverages sector following its acquisition of Dr Pepper Snapple Group. FFP therefore has exposure to the new Keurig Dr Pepper (KDP) entity, but also to Jacobs Douwe Egberts, the world’s largest roast coffee producer with $6 billion of revenue and a brand portfolio including Jacobs, Douwe Egberts, l’Or and Café Grand-Mère. JAB Holding acquired the Prêt à Manger café chain, adding it to its fast food division alongside Panera Bread, Caribou Coffee and Expresso House.

FFP also invested $10 million alongside IDI Emerging Markets in Big Bottling Company, which bottles and sells the BIG and Volt non-alcoholic carbonated drinks in Nigeria. 

In October 2018, FFP increased its exposure to the healthcare industry by joining forces with ArchiMed (www.archimed-group.eu). FFP committed to invest €80 million in the MED Platform 1 fund, for a target fund size of €800 million, with the potential to double its exposure by co-investing in selected companies. This fund, managed by healthcare and investment professionals, aims to accelerate the growth of European healthcare companies.

Finally, FFP invested €20 million alongside PAI Partners in Asmodee (www.asmodee.com), the world number three in board games and collectable cards.

Private equity

FFP continued its private equity strategy, committing for 9 new funds for a total of €122 million. FFP notably forged new relationships with five private equity firms. In the USA, FFP made a total commitment of $45 million to the Webster Capital IV, Quad V and K4 funds. In Europe, FFP made a €15 million commitment to the FAPI III fund and a €12 million commitment to the Astorg VII fund.

FFP continued its partnerships with four other private equity firms, making total commitments of €58 million to their successor funds, i.e. growth capital funds Keensight V and Warburg Pincus Global Growth, venture capital fund Idinvest Digital III and French impact fund Alter Equity II. 

Real estate

FFP continued to develop its real-estate investments. It invested an additional $37 million in six residential and commercial real-estate projects in Washington, Atlanta, Charleston, Savannah and Fairfield with ELV (www.elvassoc.com), a residential and commercial real-estate developer. The first disposal, completed in Atlanta for $5 million, produced an annualised return of 22%. 

FFP also invested €15 million in French real-estate fund White Stone VII, managed by LBO France.

FFP shares
In December 2018, FFP cancelled 150,000 of its own shares held in treasury, representing 0.60% of its share capital. FFP’s share capital now consists of 24,922,589 shares. 

Debt
At 31 December 2018, FFP’s debt amounted to €571 million as opposed to €464 million at 31 December 2017. Unused credit facilities amounted to €415 million at the end of 2018. 

Post-balance sheet events

In February 2019, FFP sold its stake in DKSH, a leading swiss provider of market expansion services focused on Southeast Asian markets, for a total of CHF212 million. FFP’s investment in DKSH dated from 2008 and the sale produced a total investment multiple of 4.3x and an average annual return (IRR) of 24%.

Since the start of the year, FFP has also made commitments to two real-estate funds, i.e. TREO managed by Tikehau Capital, and Icawood, which specialises in low-carbon real-estate development. 

Dividend
In the next AGM, the Board will propose an ordinary dividend of €2.15 per share, an increase of 7,5%.

Commenting on these results, Robert Peugeot said: “Although market conditions were tougher this year, FFP once again showed the quality and resilience of its assets, which outperformed stockmarket indexes. 

We continued to strengthen internally, and the FFP team now consists of 27 professionals in Paris and London who help to originate, execute and monitor our transactions.

PSA’s earnings hit an all-time high, driven by the excellent performance of Peugeot Citroën DS and the ongoing effective integration of Opel/Vauxhall into the group. 

We supported Safran’s takeover of Zodiac Aerospace, in which we had been a shareholder for 12 years. We are confident that the combination of those two companies, creating one of the world leaders in aerospace equipment, is already paying off. 

In 2018, we also maintained our sector and geographical diversification strategy through co-investments, commitments to private equity funds and real-estate projects. We strengthened our partnership with JAB Holding by making significant further investments in its funds.

At the start of this year, we sold our stake in DKSH, after 11 years accompanying this family-controlled Swiss company whose business is focused on Southeast Asia. Over that period, our investment created €280 million of value for our shareholders.

We are maintaining our policy of managing debt in a reasonable way, and we still have substantial investment capacity to capture new opportunities.

Although the macroeconomic environment remains uncertain, I am happy to see the rerating of  our listed investments since the beginning of the year.”

— Résilience de l'ANR dans un environnement volatil

Résilience de l'ANR dans un environnement volatil.

  18 mars 2019
Communication FFP
Télécharger le document PDF
télécharger
 

Le Conseil d’administration, réuni le 15 mars 2019 sous la présidence de M. Robert Peugeot, a arrêté les comptes de l’exercice 2018.

ANR par action : 150,3 € soit - 2,6 %

Au 31 décembre 2018, l’Actif Net Réévalué (ANR) par action s’établit à 150,3 € contre 154,4 € au 31 décembre 2017, soit une baisse de - 2,6 % sur l’année, résultant principalement de la chute des marchés financiers en fin d’année 2018. Dans cet environnement volatil, les cours des actions Peugeot SA et Safran ont progressé tandis que les autres participations cotées ont connu des performances plus contrastées. Les actifs non cotés se sont appréciés en 2018, notamment les co-investissements récents ainsi que le portefeuille de fonds de capital-investissement. 

Un résultat net consolidé marqué par le changement de norme comptable

Le résultat net consolidé, part du groupe 2018, s’élève à 115 M€ contre 222 M€ publié en 2017.

L’évolution du résultat s’explique principalement par le changement de norme comptable effectué en 2018 (IFRS9 remplaçant l’IAS 39) : les plus-values réalisées sur les participations n’étant plus comptabilisées au compte de résultat mais en capitaux propres, le résultat 2018 ne prend pas en compte 240 M€ de plus-values issues de la cession des titres Zodiac Aerospace et ORPEA. Pour mémoire, le résultat 2017 intégrait 147 M€ de plus-values liées aux cessions de Sanef, Ipsos et Onet.

Les dividendes reçus des titres de participations sont en augmentation à 83 M€ contre 77 M€ en 2017.

Faits marquants

Participations

Le 27 février 2018, FFP a apporté l’intégralité de ses actions Zodiac Aerospace (www.zodiacaerospace.com) à l’offre publique d’échange initiée par Safran (www.safrangroup.com). FFP a ainsi reçu 2 832 492 actions Safran inaliénables pour une durée de 3 ans et 141 M€. 31 M€ ont été réinvestis en actions ordinaires Safran.
F&P SAS, société commune entre FFP et le Fonds Stratégique de Participations (FSP) agissant de concert vis-à-vis de Safran, est administrateur de la société. Elle est représentée au Conseil d’administration de Safran par son Président, M. Robert Peugeot.

En juillet 2018, FFP a cédé 0,85 % du capital de la société ORPEA (www.orpea.com) à 116 €, pour un montant de 63,8 M€. Actionnaire depuis 2011, FFP réalise une performance de 4x sur cette cession. FFP conserve 5% du capital et demeure administrateur de la société.

Co-investissements

En 2018, FFP a investi 130 M$ additionnels aux cotés de JAB Holding (www.jabholco.com) pour continuer à soutenir la stratégie d’expansion du groupe dans le secteur des boissons à la suite de l’acquisition de Dr Pepper Snapple Group. Ainsi, FFP est exposée à la nouvelle entité Keurig Dr Pepper (KDP) mais également à Jacobs Douwe Egberts, le plus important torréfacteur au monde avec 6 Md$ de chiffre d’affaires et son portefeuille de marques (Jacobs, Douwe Egberts, l’Or, ou Café Grand-Mère). JAB Holding a réalisé l’acquisition de la chaine de restauration Prêt à Manger qui complète, avec notamment Panera Bread, Caribou Coffee et Expresso House, son pôle de restauration rapide.

FFP a également investi 10 M$ aux côtés d’IDI Emerging Markets dans la société Big Bottling Company, qui embouteille et commercialise les boissons gazeuses non-alcoolisées BIG et Volt au Nigéria. 

En octobre 2018, FFP a renforcé son exposition au secteur de la santé en s’associant avec ArchiMed (www.archimed-group.eu). FFP s’est ainsi engagée dans le fonds MED Platform 1 pour un montant de 80 M€ pour une taille cible du fonds de 800 M€, avec la possibilité de doubler son exposition en co-investissant dans les sociétés de son choix. Ce fonds géré par des professionnels de la santé et de l’investissement a pour objectif d’accélérer la croissance de sociétés européennes du secteur de la santé.

FFP a enfin investi 20 M€ aux côtés de PAI Partners dans Asmodee (www.asmodee.com), n°3 mondial des jeux de société et cartes à collectionner.

Capital-investissement

FFP a poursuivi sa stratégie de capital-investissement en prenant 9 nouveaux engagements pour un total de 122 M€. FFP a notamment noué de nouvelles relations avec 5 sociétés de gestion. Aux Etats-Unis, FFP s’est engagée pour un total de 45 M$ dans les fonds Webster Capital IV, Quad V et K4. En Europe, FFP a pris des engagements pour 15 M€ dans le fonds FAPI III et 12 M€ dans le fonds Astorg VII.

FFP a prolongé son partenariat avec 4 autres sociétés de gestion, en prenant des engagements dans leurs fonds successeurs pour un total de 58 M€ : il s’agit des fonds de capital-croissance Keensight V et Warburg Pincus Global Growth, du fonds d’amorçage Idinvest Digital III, ainsi que du fonds français d’impact Alter Equity II. 

Immobilier

FFP continue de se développer dans l’immobilier. 37 M$ supplémentaires ont été investis dans six projets immobiliers à Washington, Atlanta, Charleston, Savannah et Fairfield avec ELV (www.elvassoc.com), structure de promotion immobilière résidentielle et commerciale. La première cession, réalisée à Atlanta pour 5 M$, a offert une performance annualisée de 22 %. 

FFP a également investi 15 M€ dans le fonds immobilier français White Stone VII géré par LBO France.

Action FFP
En décembre 2018, FFP a procédé à l’annulation de 150 000 de ses actions auto-détenues, représentant 0,60 % du capital social. Le capital social de FFP se compose désormais de 24 922 589 actions. 

Endettement financier
Au 31 décembre 2018, l’endettement financier de FFP s’élève à 571 M€ contre 464 M€ au 31 décembre 2017. Les lignes de crédit non utilisées fin 2018 totalisent 415 M€. 

Evénements post-clôture

En février 2019, FFP a cédé sa participation dans la société suisse DKSH, leader des services aux entreprises pour leur implantation et leur expansion sur les marchés d’Asie du Sud-Est, pour un montant total de 212 M CHF. L’investissement de FFP dans DKSH datant de 2008 a permis de réaliser un multiple global de 4,3x et un rendement annuel moyen (TRI) de 24 %.

Depuis le début de l’année, FFP s’est également engagée dans les fonds immobiliers TREO géré par Tikehau Capital, et Icawood, spécialisé dans le développement immobilier bas carbone. 

Dividende
Le Conseil proposera à la prochaine Assemblée Générale un dividende ordinaire de 2,15 € par action, en progression de 7,5 %.

Commentant ces résultats, Robert Peugeot a déclaré : « Dans un environnement de marché qui s’est dégradé, FFP a pu une nouvelle fois démontrer la qualité et la résilience de ses actifs, dont la performance a été meilleure que les indices boursiers. 

Notre société a continué à se renforcer et l’équipe de FFP compte désormais 27 professionnels entre Paris et Londres, qui contribuent à l’origination, au déroulement et au suivi de nos opérations.

PSA a publié des résultats historiques, dûs à une excellente performance de Peugeot Citroën DS et à la poursuite de l’intégration efficace d’Opel/Vauxhall dans le groupe. 

Nous avons soutenu l’OPE menée par Safran sur Zodiac Aerospace, dont nous étions actionnaires depuis 12 ans et sommes convaincus que ce rapprochement est déjà bénéfique à un des leaders mondiaux des équipements aéronautiques ainsi constitué. 

L’année 2018 aura également été marquée par la poursuite de notre stratégie de diversification sectorielle et géographique, via des co-investissements, des engagements dans des fonds de capital-investissement et des projets immobiliers. Nous avons notamment renforcé notre partenariat avec JAB Holding en réinvestissant significativement à leurs côtés.

En début d’année 2019, nous avons cédé notre participation dans DKSH après avoir accompagné pendant 11 ans cette société familiale suisse dont l’activité est centrée sur l’Asie du sud-est. Sur cette période, cet investissement aura créé 280 M€ de valeur.

Nous poursuivons notre politique de gestion raisonnable de notre endettement financier et conservons une capacité d’investissement importante propice à saisir de nouvelles opportunités.

Bien que l’environnement macro-économique reste incertain, je ne peux que constater la progression enregistrée au début de cette année de l’ensemble de nos participations cotées. »